How does it feel to die?

For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain.(Phillipians 1:21 NIV)

Don’t be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Instead, fear the one who can destroy both body and soul in hell.(Mattew 10:28 GWT)

Recently, I found myself on a late night  journey in no other place but the heart of Nigeria. In case you didnt know, certain mean folks own the roads at night in my beloved country. Okay, so my two hour journey commenced at 7pm, when the lights in the sky were dimming and there were talks of a particular route we were taking being in ambush by these mean folks. So yeah, It was officially time for me to fear for my life.

I knew I had made a mistake making that trip at that time. Well, I was in the soup already. I knew in my spirit danger was ahead of us. I thought of getting down from the vehicle and turning back but I didn’t. The journey began, I was scared, we all were.

Then the thoughts came. What evil could possibly befall us, robbery, rape, ritual, kidnap, DEATH. oh yeah, death. I hear a lot about death, its like, the greatest evil per se, and…. No one knows what really happens at death.

 I thought of all the possible ways I could die that night, the vehicle losing a tire on high speed and we all being thrown over a bridge into the  river , me practicing my amateur swimming skill to save myself but eventually, H20 taking over my brain and I passing out and dying with an excruciating pain inside my skull. Or, armed robbers firing straight through the head of our driver and he losing control of the vehicle and we plunging to our death either by crashing into an iroko tree in the forest or by the vehicle somersaulting until it explodes in flames.

Well, I did think of death. The amazing thing is, I had prayed, for God’s love to be on the vehicle. I read psalm 27:5 and I felt peace to go on with the journey. But I still thought of death.

I even imagined sending a text to my parents with my last breath,

Do not mourn for too long.

Haha! So dramatic. 

The point is! I wasn’t afraid of dying. If at all, I was curious. I was wrong oh,  I shouldn’t have been on that journey, but Gods love so comforted me and strengthened me that all the negative thoughts and fears became inspiration.

The journey lasted for about 3hours, I got home in one piece shortly after 10:00pm. But, I had learnt an invaluable lesson.

Those who love life too much will lose it, but those who lose their lives will gain it.(paraphrased from Matthew 16:25)

~

   

Leave a Reply

